GSP
Quick Navigator

Search Site

Unix VPS
A - Starter
B - Basic
C - Preferred
D - Commercial
MPS - Dedicated
Previous VPSs
* Sign Up! *

Support
Contact Us
Online Help
Handbooks
Domain Status
Man Pages

FAQ
Virtual Servers
Pricing
Billing
Technical

Network
Facilities
Connectivity
Topology Map

Miscellaneous
Server Agreement
Year 2038
Credits
 

USA Flag

 

 

Man Pages


Manual Reference Pages  -  EMPIRE (6)

NAME

empire - Empire client

CONTENTS

Synopsis
Description
Options
Operands
Environment Variables
Authors

SYNOPSIS

empire [-hkruv] [-2 outfile] [-s [host:]port] [country [password]]

DESCRIPTION

empire is a bare bones client to connect to the Empire server. Empire is a global economic/political/military simulation game wherein players, representing national governments, make "real-time" decisions concerning resource allocation, national goals, international diplomatic efforts, etc. Extensive records are kept for all players.

WARNING -- This game is not only addictive but often peels back the thin veneer of civilization that hides the maniac within.

OPTIONS

-h Help. Print brief usage information and exit.
-k If someone else is connected to your country, kill their connection.
-r Restricted mode: disable redirections and execute command.
-s [host:]port
  Specify server host and port.
-u Use UTF-8 rather than ASCII character set.
This requires server version 4.2.21 or later, and a terminal that understands UTF-8.
-v Print version information and exit.
-2 outfile
  Append log of session to outfile.

OPERANDS

country
  The name of your country in the game.
password
  The password for your country in the game. Warning: the password passed here is visible to other users on the same machine!

ENVIRONMENT VARIABLES

The following environment variables affect the execution of the client:
EMPIREHOST
  Specifies the host to connect to, i.e. where the server runs. Only effective if no host specified via -s.
EMPIREPORT
  Specifies the port number or service name to connect to. Only effective if no port specified via -s.
COUNTRY
  The name of your country in the game.
PLAYER The password for your country in the game, also known as your representative.
LOGNAME
  Your user name.

SEE ALSO

emp_server(6).

AUTHORS

Primary Author is Dave Pare <mr-frog@scam.berkeley.edu>
Secondary authors/contributors may include:
James Anderson <jwa@k.cs.cmu.edu>
Jeff Anton <anton@postgres.berkeley.edu>
Markus Armbruster <armbru@pond.sub.org>
Phill Everson <everson@compsci.bristol.ac.uk>
Steven Grimm <koreth@ucscb.UCSC.EDU>
Lewis R. Jansen <lrj@helios.tn.cornell.edu>
Mike St. Johns <stjohns@edn-vax.arpa>
Ron Koenderink <rkoenderink@yahoo.ca>
Nick Lai <lai@cs.ucla.edu>
Shelley Louie <slouie@cory.berekely.edu>
Steve McClure <ionica@empire.cx>
Chris Metcalf <metcalf-christopher@yale.arpa>
Dave Muir Sharnoff <muir@cogsci.berkeley.edu>
Keith Muller <muller@sdcc7.ucsd.edu>
Chuck Musciano <chuck@trantor.harris-atd.com>
Jeff Okamoto <okamoto%hpccc@hplabs.hp.com>
Julian Onions <jpo@computer-science.nottingham.ac.uk>
Kurt Pires <kjpires@ic.berkeley.edu>
Jim Reuter <reuter@decwrl.dec.com>
Peter Vukovich <peterv@monet.berkeley.edu>
Jeff Wallace <jeffw@scam.berkeley.edu>
John Yockey <johny@verinet.com>
Search for    or go to Top of page |  Section 6 |  Main Index


EMPIRE (6) -->

Powered by GSP Visit the GSP FreeBSD Man Page Interface.
Output converted with manServer 1.07.