removes the specified role(s). To drop a superuser role, you must be a superuser yourself; to drop non-superuser roles, you must have
A role cannot be removed if it is still referenced in any database of the cluster; an error will be raised if so. Before dropping the role, you must drop all the objects it owns (or reassign their ownership) and revoke any privileges the role has been granted on other objects. The
REASSIGN OWNED (REASSIGN_OWNED(7))
DROP OWNED (DROP_OWNED(7))
commands can be useful for this purpose; see
Section 20.4, Dropping Roles, in the documentation
for more discussion.
However, it is not necessary to remove role memberships involving the role;
automatically revokes any memberships of the target role in other roles, and of other roles in the target role. The other roles are not dropped nor otherwise affected.