GSP
Quick Navigator

Search Site

Unix VPS
A - Starter
B - Basic
C - Preferred
D - Commercial
MPS - Dedicated
Previous VPSs
* Sign Up! *

Support
Contact Us
Online Help
Handbooks
Domain Status
Man Pages

FAQ
Virtual Servers
Pricing
Billing
Technical

Network
Facilities
Connectivity
Topology Map

Miscellaneous
Server Agreement
Year 2038
Credits
 

USA Flag

 

 

Man Pages


Manual Reference Pages  -  VERCMP (8)

.ds Aq ’

NAME

vercmp - version comparison utility

CONTENTS

SYNOPSIS

vercmp <version1> <version2>

DESCRIPTION

vercmp is used to determine the relationship between two given version numbers. It outputs values as follows:

o

o < 0 : if ver1 < ver2

o

o = 0 : if ver1 == ver2

o

o > 0 : if ver1 > ver2

Version comparison operates as follows:

Alphanumeric:
  1.0a < 1.0b < 1.0beta < 1.0p < 1.0pre < 1.0rc < 1.0 < 1.0.a < 1.0.1
Numeric:
  1 < 1.0 < 1.1 < 1.1.1 < 1.2 < 2.0 < 3.0.0

Additionally, version strings can have an epoch value defined that will overrule any version comparison, unless the epoch values are equal. This is specified in an epoch:version-rel format. For example, 2:1.0-1 is always greater than 1:3.6-1.

Keep in mind that the pkgrel is only compared if it is available on both versions given to this tool. For example, comparing 1.5-1 and 1.5 will yield 0; comparing 1.5-1 and 1.5-2 will yield < 0 as expected. This is mainly for supporting versioned dependencies that do not include the pkgrel.

OPTIONS

-h, --help

Display syntax for the given operation. If no operation was supplied, then the general syntax is shown.

EXAMPLES

$ vercmp 1 2
-1

$ vercmp 2 1
1

$ vercmp 2.0-1 1.7-6
1

$ vercmp 2.0 2.0-13
0

$ vercmp 4.34 1:001
-1

CONFIGURATION

There is none.

SEE ALSO

pacman(8), makepkg(8), libalpm(3)

See the pacman website at https://www.archlinux.org/pacman/ for current information on pacman and its related tools.

BUGS

Bugs? You must be kidding; there are no bugs in this software. But if we happen to be wrong, send us an email with as much detail as possible to pacman-dev@archlinux.org.

AUTHORS

Current maintainers:

o

o Allan McRae <allan@archlinux.org>

o

o Andrew Gregory <andrew.gregory.8@gmail.com>

o

o Dan McGee <dan@archlinux.org>

o

o Dave Reisner <dreisner@archlinux.org>

Past major contributors:

o

o Judd Vinet <jvinet@zeroflux.org>

o

o Aurelien Foret <aurelien@archlinux.org>

o

o Aaron Griffin <aaron@archlinux.org>

o

o Xavier Chantry <shiningxc@gmail.com>

o

o Nagy Gabor <ngaba@bibl.u-szeged.hu>

For additional contributors, use git shortlog -s on the pacman.git repository.

Search for    or go to Top of page |  Section 8 |  Main Index


Pacman 4&.2&.0 VERCMP (8) 2014-12-19

Powered by GSP Visit the GSP FreeBSD Man Page Interface.
Output converted with manServer 1.07.